Solved

Can I use the inbound/outbound journey at any time during my trip?

• 1 July 2021
  • 6 replies

I'm new to interrail and have two questions that I can't find an answer to so please help ;-))

1. Can the inbound / outbound journey be at any time of my interrail? so say I go to Italy by car and then start from there and then at some point in the middle, say day 5, I travel into my home country (Germany) and then have the outbound on day 6? and at the end of my interrail I would just go back to Germany by car again.
  2. When I go from Italy to lets say the Netherland I would need to change trains in Germany to get there. Does that count as travelling in my own country or is that irrelevant because my home country wouldn't be my final destination?

Hope I made myself kind of clear and am thankful for any advice. Greta

icon

Best answer by Nanja 2 July 2021, 16:39

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

Hi, the inbound and outbound travel days can indeed be used at any time, in any  order. 

Regarding your second question, If you are travelling within your own country, despite you are '’only'’ crossing the country, it is counted as an in/outbound trip. If you have more trips in Germany than only 2, I would encourage you to use the in and outbound/ trip of your Pass for the longest train rides, and purchase point to point tickets for the others. 

Cheers, :relaxed:

Hi,

I have a NS ( dutch) rail  pass in my own country which allows me unlimited travel in my country.

My question is if  this pass also  covers my inbound/ outbound interrail travel?

e.g going from Breda in Holland (last train stop in Holland) to Noordenkempen ( first train stop in Belgium ) :

is this a seperate train  ticket ( assuming first inbound/outbound travel already jas occurred) ?

or

is it covered by my dutch rail pass? 

please advise, 

thank you

Userlevel 7
Badge +14