2022 summer struggles

• 28 August 2022
  • 3 replies

I'm genuinely curious are other people having as much issues as I am with booking trains/reserving seats and there being train strikes or construction or this dumb thing with sending paper tickets? 

I've had a nightmare of a trip because I have no experience with european summer and wondering if it's always this busy and messed up??? 

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Indeed, my experience was also marred in comparison to many other super pleasant years.

Booking trains and reservations have always been a bit of a hassle, but were very important this year due to the extremely high demand. I never knew it as bad as this year. The last minute travellers, I pity them this year.

Summertime usually is synonymous with construction works on the railway, but usually it’s announced quite well in advance. Had a bit of issues with the random trips, not planned days, because of this, but okay to work around. Not more problems than usual.

Although everything was well planned on our trips and the big connections were neatly reserved, with enough buffer and back-up. But there were several issues. We almost always had to fall back to back-up options… Never happened before.

Especially Germany was annoying to travel through. Enduring troubles with the ICE with several cancellations due to staff shortages, huge crowds due to the 9-euro ticket, and the extremely high temperatures also had their effect on the punctuality and reliability of many services, or airconditioning broke down (in the nightjet).

Although some countries handled the heat remarkably better than usual, like Belgium.

Also crowding was dreadful, several trains didn’t want to leave because they were to full (Germany, Slovenia). Endless delays and missed connections as a consequence. And plenty of lost leisure time.