Solved

Valencia to Amsterdam WITHOUT reservations

• 2 December 2022
  • 4 replies

Hello!

I am studying in Valencia this year and over winter break I am meeting my friend from back home in Amsterdam. I need to show up on the 21st of December and I get out of school on the 16th. I want to get there on regional, no reservation trains only because I already spent the money on the pass and I don’t mind if it takes a few days. On budget and on principle, I am not spending another 70 euros on the very first leg of my journey.

The problem is, when I look up Valencia - Amsterdam on the Eurail planner with the no reservation filter, it shows me absolutely nothing no matter what dates and times I put in. What I’m wondering is if there’s ANY better way to figure out how to get from one place to the other than just going to the station in Valencia once I’m out of school and taking the first northbound train a whole bunch of times until I’m in Amsterdam. I can’t seem to find any other planning service that’s any more helpful, nor can I find complete timetables for stations themselves. (I have no problem going through manually and figuring out which train to take at what time from where and how to make my connections, but I can’t do that if I can’t access schedules!)

Alternatively, I’m guessing that perhaps the Eurail planner just won’t show me any options because the amount of time it will take is above some threshold where it just decides for me that nope, it takes too long, you don’t actually want to make this journey. Is there some way to override that, if that might be what’s going on?

I hope this makes sense and I will grab at any straw that might be vaguely helpful because otherwise I am going to travel like a true aimless nomad and I kind of don’t want to do that, as freeing and spiritual as it sounds. Thanks in advance!

icon

Best answer by BrendanDB 2 December 2022, 10:52

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9