Italy/Switzerland Eurocity

• 5 April 2022
  • 8 replies

Hey!

I’m new to the eurail community, looking to plan a trip to Italy/Switzerland. I am a bit confused about how the booking system works, specifically for the Eurocity train between Italy and Switzerland. When I did the plan route option, I didn’t see any direct routes from Milan to Zurich, although in the travel planning section it states that there are direct trains. Additionally, are EC trains included in the global pass? I did not see that company listed in the included trains list

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

On which date are you looking for these trains?

They are certainly included in the global pass. They're run by SBB in Switzerland and by Trenitalia in Italy, both of which participate in Eurail. Reservations are required if you use them for travel to Italy and are best made via ÖBB (using these steps). You can also use ÖBB to book day trains in Italy. In Switzerland, reservations are not required.

I was having the same issue and discovered there seems to be rail works during summer which means you can’t take a direct train. Not sure of the dates you’re after but that might be it!

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

I just looked on the Trenitalia website and it shows direct trains in my test date (13 July). Another planner (DB) didn't so it's again related to Trenitalia's usual late delivery of timetable data. They have just published their summer timetable (starting 12 June) for long distance trains on their own website and it will take a few more days to show up elsewhere. Next update for online timetables is early Friday morning.

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

There are just a few direct (=no change) trains, but you can go nearly ev hour by changing somewhere-and then also get chance to see a little more of beautiful Swizterland!