Skip to main content
Solved

Barcelona - Lourdes

• 9 March 2024
  • 5 replies

Im totally new to this and would appreciate some help! :) 

Just bought Interrail pass 2nd class for me and my 2 teenagers. I would like to know if anyone knows:

1. Barcelona to Lourdes, 4th of August
  • Are their trains on the route I have in the map?
  • What is the most beautiful way to go there by train, interesting nature and mountains?
  • What is the cheapest way to go there by train and only spend 1 day?
  • Is it too early to book tickets for travel in August now? When I search I cant seem to find that many trains, sometimes no at all. But if I search for April/May there is trains. 

1. Marseille - Tirano, 9th of August
  • Cheapest and fastest train to travel this day from Marseille in France to Tirano in Italy? It seems to be difficult when I look. :)
  • Is it possible to do it in one day?

Remember that the pass is your ticket. Sometimes you need seat reservations on top of it (extra costs).

Barcelona - Lourdes : yes, there are trains via Latour and it’s a very beautiful route. Definitely the way to go. However trains are quite slow so take your time, relax and enjoy :)

• R3 Barcelona-Sants - Latour 06:01 - 09:23
  • TER Latour - Toulouse-Matabiau 10:32 - 13:14
  • Intercités Toulouse-Matabiau - Lourdes 13:33 - 15:22

Later (better) option : departure 08:31, arrival 18:22 (weekdays)/18:51 (Saturdays)/19:58 (Sundays). On Sundays you have around 2 hours to explore Toulouse a bit. :)

A few things :

• the R3 doesn’t appear on planners. Use https://rodalies.gencat.cat/en/horaris/ (check closer to travel date, times should remain similar)
  • reservations not possible for the first 2 trains, optional for the third (1.60€)
  • there might be more trains in August but I’m not sure. Timetables should be published in the coming weeks (later for the Spanish train).

Have a look at this general guide for reservations : https://www.seat61.com/interrail-and-eurail-reservations.htm