Mobile or Paper pass on Balkan, Italy and Ferries?

• 27 June 2021
  • 2 replies

Hello fellow travelers :)

Munich - Bari - Athens - Tirana - Pristina - Skopje - Belgrade - Zagreb - Rijeka - Ljubljana - Venice - Munich

That’ll be my route for September. I've done a lot of research over the past few days and I think the Balkans will be an adventure to travel with Interrail. There will certainly be some routes on which I won’t use my Interrail ticket and will take the bus.

But this will also be my first Interrail trip, I've never been to the Balkans so I have no experience at all.

With sales coming to an end and the special 1€ refund upgrade ending at midnight, I wonder if it is better to travel with a mobile pass or the paper pass?

The routes in the Balkans are currently closed due to Covid and it will be difficult to predict how it’ll be in September. I am hoping for a chance to travel a lot by train. I also want to remain flexible and see myself asking about the travel routes/conditions for the next day on site.

So would the mobile pass or the paper pass be the better choice for my project? I am quite unsure when choosing the Mobile Pass, as almost half of my journeys cannot be found in the app. I would have to add them manually which I think will be a problem and a challenge. And for the ferry (Bari - Patras) I don't even have a clue how to handle it.

On the other hand, I would be able to save almost 30€ with the mobile pass and I like to save whenever I can :wink:

I look forward to your opinions, recommendations and maybe even tips for the Balkans :)

Sophia

2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

I prefer the paperpass  as you have always something as proof your valid Railpass (some conductors are not able to check the QR Code)  ontop you have with the paper pass something as souvenir to remember your journey

Userlevel 7
Badge +9