Solved

Trying to reserve seats on Trenitalia’s Frecciarossa FR 9705 with Eurail Global pass

• 19 November 2023
  • 5 replies

Thank you in advance for a solution to my question.

We have done train travel in many countries with/without passes, but this is my first time booking with Eurail Global pass (Flexi 7 days in one month). So, I must be doing something incredibly stupid. I have always used Trainline app to buy tickets in Spain and Italy earlier.

I have two of the Eurail First class global passes (my wife and I), downloaded the Rail planner app, created two identical trips (one for each of us), connected the passes (not activated as yet), created multiple journeys under the trips. 

I couldn’t figure out how to use the info I stored in the trips/journeys to the Interrail reservation system the app takes you to. So, anyway I created a trip for one of my journeys (Milano central to Vienna Wien). Interrail shows the one transfer thru Venezia Mestre and when I choose that and try to book, it asks me for my “country and city of birth”, and doesn’t ask for my passport details. My country of birth is different from my US citizenship. I was wondering if giving my country of birth will confuse the ticket inspector when I produce my US passport.

So, I tried booking on the OBB app. The reservation fee is much cheaper there and I could select my seats on the Venezia Mestre to Vienna segment. However, for the Milan to Venezia segment, OBB says no reservation is required, whereas Interrail says that I need one.

What should I do? Is Trenitalia reachable on phone to do the reservation or should I contact Interrail (phone?)

Appreciate any suggestion.

Thanks & regards,

Saibal

icon

Best answer by rvdborgt 19 November 2023, 09:17

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5