Solved

Getting Started: Questions Before Pass Activation

• 15 July 2022
  • 3 replies

I'm very new to Interrail. I just bought a 2 months mobile 1st Class Global Pass. It has not yet been activated but I'm planning on using it during my semester abroad in Switzerland starting mid-September. I have a few questions before doing anything wrong! 

1. I put the UK as a residency country because that's where I lived when I bought the pass. Would that be a problem since I'm moving to Switzerland? All of my travels will be from Switzerland during my semester. I might've unintentionally escaped the out/in-bound rule for the home country, right? lol

2. My pass has been sitting in my phone, unactivated. But I'm getting a new phone, what should I do to transfer the pass? 

3. Apparently, when Rail Planner doesn't allow it, you can buy tickets and reserve a bed on Euro Night Trains direclty on OBB. Once I do that, how do I add it to my Rail Planner app? (picture below)

4. Rail Planner doesn't allow

5. On OBB, Zurich-Vienna's ticket + couchette costs 34€ for Interrail discount. But on the Rail Planner app, it's so much cheaper. I don't know which website to reserve with? Also, which option is the most comfortable from the ones listed on Rail Planner?

OBB
  1. Rail Planner App

icon

Best answer by AnnaB 15 July 2022, 23:03

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

You need help from Customer Support to disconnect you pass from your current phone if you get a new phone. Use the form in the link to make your request. Add your pass number and the start date of your travel to the request. 

https://eurail.zendesk.com/hc/en-001/requests/new

Do you have a UK or a Swiss passport?

You will never have the reservations in the app as reservation are separate from the app.

Here is some useful information from the experienced travellers in the Community regarding both planning, reservations and activation of pass and travel days. 

Planning