Solved

First Class Seat Reservation

• 10 September 2022
  • 5 replies

• Right on track
  • 4 replies

Hi guys:

We are group of three travelers.

I thought when I use Euro Rail seat reservation system, I will be able to select seats. Despite paying hefty $156.00 and $253 for seat reservation between London-Paris and Paris-Zurich respectively for first class on top of euro rail pass, I didn’t get to choose where we sit :(. 

Are there any tricks to do seat reservation or are we at the mercy for automation? Can we change our seats at the station? I know London Paris leg may be very busy but i don’t expect Paris Zurich to be a problem. It is my first time travelling to Europe so I am not sure how busy it would be between Paris Zurich on express train.

thanks

icon

Best answer by Anonymous 19 September 2022, 14:00

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

You can change your seats for the London - Paris leg by using the reservation details at https://www.eurostar.com

You might be able to change the TGV reservations at the ticket office in Paris.

If you had asked here before booking those we could have suggested you to not use the direct Paris - Zurich trains, by changing at Mulhouse or Strasbourg the reservations would have been at most €20 each and possibly only €10.

The reservation fees for passholders on the TGVs from France to Switzerland are an absolute joke. These and other International TGV from France are by far the highest seat reservation fees anywhere in Europe.

Even with that, you appear to have paid more than you should, the reservations bought from eurail are €40 and €70 per person respectively, you must have been charged hefty exchange fees.

Badge +5