Solved

Planning trip including TGV's

• 9 March 2022
  • 4 replies

Hi, I'm new to this and am trying to plan a trip with my family this summer. I have checked websites of all the trains and reservation fees that I would have to pay but am having trouble with SNCF. I read that they have limited interrail tickets available, but on their website I can't seem to add that its an interrail pass booking. I don't have the interrail pass at the moment so it seems I can't check the interrail reservations until I have one.

Is it possible to find out the availability of interrail places available before I purchase my interrail ticket?

And if there is no interrail availability on certain tgv trains for example, then do I have to buy full price tickets? Rendering my interrail pass useless.

TIA

icon

Best answer by mcadv 9 March 2022, 13:07

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

Hi, I'm new to this and am trying to plan a trip with my family this summer. I have checked websites of all the trains and reservation fees that I would have to pay but am having trouble with SNCF. I read that they have limited interrail tickets available, but on their website I can't seem to add that its an interrail pass booking.

That is correct, unfortunately. SNCF removed Interrail reservations from their website over a year ago, for reasons unknown. Please complain to them that this is very customer-unfriendly.

Is it possible to find out the availability of interrail places available before I purchase my interrail ticket?

Belgian railways have a page for domestic TGVs and IC trains in France and one for Thalys/Eurostar.

There are also international TGVs to Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Luxembourg and Belgium, but as far as I know, availability the only possibility to check availability online is on the Interrail website, after having bought a pass, which is not very practical.