Solved

Dad + 2 boys aged 14 + 16 - first time interrail!

• 4 April 2024
  • 5 replies

Hi All - I am planning on taking a first time interrail trip with my two boys. The aim is to go at the end of may/start of june for anywhere between 10-14 days. We live in Dublin. I’ve never done this before so am completely unsure of what is involved, what to book, how to book etc.

My plan is to try to go from Dublin > Paris > Munich > Rome > Paris > Dublin.

I wouldn’t mind altering/simplifying this route/plan slightly based on other suggestions!

Happy to do this on a budget / cost effective way as it’s about going on a little adventure.

For example I think we could stay in family room hostel in each location for 1-2 nights? I also think we could reserve space on overnight train to free up daytime?

Would appreciate suggestions for this from more experienced travellers! :)

icon

Best answer by thibcabe 4 April 2024, 11:07

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Looks really good!

Have a look at this for the best ways to get to France (it will take some time) : https://www.seat61.com/international-trains/trains-from-Dublin.htm#dublin-to-paris

I'd seriously consider a ferry to Normandy.

Night trains are far from common now but they do exist. You could take one from Munich to Rome (although that one tends to be expensive and popular). Have a look at https://nachtzugkarte.de/en/

Rome - Paris is a bit too far to do in a day imho. It's doable with some tight connections but it won't be really pleasant.

I'd try to take the Bernina route between Italy and Switzerland : truly stunning all year round! You could do Rome - Chur/Zurich (night) - London (night) - Dublin.

Actually with 2 weeks I might recommend flying one-way as you'll lose quite some time getting out of Ireland/the UK.

Here is a general guide about seat reservations : https://www.seat61.com/interrail-and-eurail-reservations.htm