Solved

Add passport or ID card for eurail ticket

Badge +2

I posted before about using a Eurail ticket as a UK citizen but living (for many years) in Hong Kong. As such, I have a UK passport and a Hong Kong identity card (but not HK passport). I will carry some supporting documentation of residency in Hong Kong (can get something from employer, and maybe government document). Hopefully that will be enough - I tried to get clarification from eurail but have not heard anything.

I have 2 more questions that I would appreciate some guidance on.

1. Do I enter the HK identity card number as my ID for the pass, or my UK passport number? The HK identity card is not a travel document (just an internal HK document), but if I use the UK passport on a eurail ticket I guess this could cause problems?!
  2. In reality, how often / strictly are you asked for identity? I am not doing anything wrong (as a current HK resident I am actually doing the right thing getting Eurail I believe) but I don’t want to face hassle and stress every time my documentation is checked. If I have to show valid TRAVEL documentation, this would be a UK passport. If this is going to cause difficulties to explain on trains - and worst case not be accepted as valid - I could just get an interrail instead using the UK passport. 

Thanks for the advice!

icon

Best answer by Claudi. 1 August 2022, 15:34

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

@Claudi. Can you please assist here?

Userlevel 4
Badge +2

We do have some guidelines available on this page in cases of dual citizenship, etc. In this case, it would be useful to mention that generally speaking: 

We do recommend entering the country where you currently permanently reside as your country of residence. If your country of residence is different from your citizenship, then please remember to bring your government-issued proof or residence or ID-card along on your trip.