Solved

Checking my understanding of Eurail Spain pass

• 10 November 2023
  • 5 replies

Total noobie question: 

I have mapped out our trip in Spain.  We will have four travel days in the month.  When I price each leg, a first class ticket is about $16USD, so $32USD for my husband and I.  Four trips would cost $128USD.  A four day Eurail pass for seniors costs more than $700USD.  What am I missing?  Are there benefits to the Eurail pass that I am not taking into consideration?  Or are Eurail passes not cost effective for short intercity trips (Barcelona → Valencia, Valencia→Madrid, Madrid →Cordoba, Cordoba-→Granada)

Thanks for any insight!

icon

Best answer by ralderton 10 November 2023, 19:44

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

A Eurail pass is often not great if you’re mostly travelling in Spain. As you’ve found, most Spanish trains need reservations - and these can be pricey (and sometimes hard to buy).

In other countries (UK, Germany, Belgium, NL, Germany, Austria, Switzerland and more) you don’t need reservations and the pass is great value.

There’s a good guide to reservation costs here:

https://www.seat61.com/interrail-and-eurail-reservations.htm

Have you priced out the cost of individual tickets for your route? Most Spanish trains can be bought on www.trainline.com or www.raileurope.com . These aren't the absolute best websites, because they charge booking fees, but they do make it easy to check prices.

Spain releases its tickets quite late, so if you don’t see any results for your search, check dates in the next few weeks to give you an idea.

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

Where did you get the price 700 USD?

A 4 day senior Eurail Spain Pass costs 199 USD. I guess that you missed to delete the preselected youth pass and got the price for several passes for 700 USD.

Userlevel 7
Badge +4