Solved

driver license proof of residence

Hi, I’m a Dutch student who is going to study next semester in Germany. I currently have a Dutch drivers license wich is a valid ID/proof of residence in the Netherlands. However perhaps it is better to transfer my drivers license to a German one. The question is: Would a German drivers license proof my residence in Germany (since it has the municipality who is issuing the license on it) instead of my Dutch ID card so I can get a global pass with as home country Germany?

icon

Best answer by AnnaB 23 March 2023, 16:53

View original

14 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

But do you want your country of residence to be Germany? It will limit you to 2 travel days in Germany.

Well yes and no, the plan is to buy 2 passes because I then live in the Netherlands (I only study in Germany for 1 Semester) and the other pass with the home country as Germany (because I register myself there as a resident too. So 1 pass I could use to explore Germany. And the other one to travel for example from Amsterdam/Rotterdam to London or Paris since otherwise I need to travel to Belgium first.

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

Even if you have Netherlands as your country of residence, you can travel in NL (including on the Eurostar/ Thalys) on two days during your pass.

Remember that the Eurostar passholder fare is €35 each way from NL. And on Thalys to Paris it’s €30 I think. You can often find cash tickets for not much more. So if you’re only interested in Paris and London, a pass isn't vital. (If you were planning a lot of travel in NL, then it would be)

I’m not sure what the rules are on temporary residence for choosing you COR, but it’s designed to stop you from using it as regular transport from your home.