Solved

Train ride with many train changes within one day trip

• 25 November 2023
  • 12 replies

I am new with Eurail Global Pass and the APP. I plan to take train from Genoa to Chamonix and I have to change train at Milan Centrale, Visp, Martigny, and Vallorcrine. When I use APP to add my trip, do I have to add each segment (like Genoa to Milan) as one trip? and check reservation requirement and buy seat for each segment separately? thanks

icon

Best answer by thibcabe 26 November 2023, 11:57

View original

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

You can do either.

I tend to add each train separately, as it makes things easier if there are delays etc that mean I have to take a later train. (Or, sometimes, an earlier one!)

It is best to search timetables on Bahn.com, rather than in the app, It’s more reliable.

You’ll need a reservation on the IC from Genoa to Milan, €3. And on the EC from Milan to Switzerland, €11.

Best information on reservations, and where to buy them, here: https://www.seat61.com/interrail-and-eurail-reservations.htm

thanks a lot. I followed your link (italotreno.it) and the webpage even cannot find Chamonix, any advice? I have to use google search to figure out general route/time first for the day. Eurail.com cannot plan the route for me. Any other way to better plan route (like from GENOA TO CHAMONIX)?

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

I don't think ralderton linked .Italo's website. It's a high-speed train competitor against the state railways (Trenitalia).

For timetable purposes it's best to use bahn.com or DB Navigator app (German railways). They're both linked to the European-wide database so quite reliable !

Simply be aware that not all Italian regional trains timetables after 10th December have been released yet. Trenord/Trenitalia are always very late.

What's your travel date ? I could suggest an itinerary but it'll likely be the same as above via Switzerland.