Solved

Using the Global Pass in England

• 20 September 2022
  • 7 replies

Hello, 

I am a British student living in Rotterdam for one year on an exchange programme. I would like to travel from Rotterdam to Paris for a weekend, then travel from Paris to London, then within the UK travel from London to Leeds on the same day (so Paris-London-Leeds), and then on the way back to Rotterdam travel from Durham to London then London to Rotterdam all in one day also. 

Does anyone know if the global pass with 4 days travel a month will allow this? I really need help!

icon

Best answer by Yorkie 20 September 2022, 19:09

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +10

You can use in your home country only on 2 days (Outbound/Inbound Rule). 

Your home country is where you live, how it works for students that are on an exchange program, I don’t know. Great Britain or The Netherlands. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

Your home country is where you live, how it works for students that are on an exchange program, I don’t know. Great Britain or The Netherlands. 

In the Netherlands you're required to register with the local authorities, so you should be able to demonstrate that you live there.

Userlevel 7
Badge +10

From the way you describe your plans it would seem you can declare your country of residence either way as you would only travel in the UK on 2 of the days and in the Netherlands for 2 days.

If you have official documentation in your student address for your stay in Rotterdam then that would suffice if challenged, but the general consensus is you are unlikely to be challenged for any proof of residency whilst travelling. The App does the policing based on your original order, only allowing 2 days with any travel in your “home” country.

You would though need to use your Netherlands address if you planned to use your fourth day to get from Leeds to Durham.

OOI Paris to Leeds is easy in a day, as would Durham to Rotterdam.

Enjoy your visit home.

Userlevel 7
Badge +5