Planning trip from Gdansk -> Athens, in total 10 stops.

• 1 February 2022
  • 8 replies

Hi!

I'm trying to plan my trip. Here's what I've come up with so far. But this route leaves out Sofia, Bucharest,Thessaloniki, Skopje and Krakow. But i think this is some of the best i can do in 30-40 days. This routes includes some planetickets near the end due to not so good railways. I have never travelled alone before and I really wanna experience travelling abit before i start on my 3 year bachelor lol. Do I need to search for visum? I am a EU resident so I dont think it’s mandatory? Are there many places to wash clothes? I'm gonna stay at hotels, I guess I can pay the cleaners to help me wash my clothes? I hope to get all my stuff inside a small carryon bag.

I'm thinking to adjust the days when I go, as long as I am at Split at xx. date to catch the airplane to Belgrade, and then to Athens, so the only fixed number of nights will be at Belgrade and at Athens. So I'll have xx amount of days to distribute on the places inbetween Gdansk and Split.

Any feedback or tips?

Places to sleep:
Gdansk, 3 nights
Warsaw, 3 nights
Berlin, 3 nights
Prague, 3 nights
Budapest, 4 nights
Bratislava (/vienna), 5 nights
Zagreb, 2 nights
Ljubljana, 2 nights
Split, 4 nights
Belgrade, 2 nights
Athens, 4 nights.
Total nights 35

My route so far
Gdansk to Warsaw by train, est price 17eur. 5h30m traveltime
Warsaw to Berlin by train, est price 40eur. 6h traveltime
Berlin to Prauge by train, est price 30eur. 4h20m traveltime
Prauge to Vienna by train, est price 18eur. 4h40m traveltime
Vienna to Budapest by train, est price 15eur. 2h40m traveltime
Budapest to Zagreb by bus, est price 15 eur. 5h traveltime (0 changes)
Zagreb to Ljubljana by train or bus, est price 10 eur (x2). 2h30m traveltime with either train or bus.
Zagreb to Split by bus, est price 20eur. 5h30m traveltime bus, 45m plane
Split to Belgrade by plane, est price -120-200eur. 3h-4h30m traveltimes depends