Solved

Booking in Hungary and Turkey

Hi,

This is my first time Interrailing and while the opportunity is fantastic, I’m finding the organisation rather stressful and often nebulous. I am also doing my planning rather last minute as I decided to join someone on short notice so I don’t have a lot of time.

I am planning a trip from Geneva to Tbilisi (Georgia), starting next Friday (14/07). I will be going from Turkey to Georgia by bus, but doing all the previous bits on my Interrail pass. Two questions :

1. I need to book Budapest > Bucharest on the 15/07 either at 15h10 (ideal) or 11h10 (changing trains in Arad). The Interrail site is only offering me a paper ticket which I am too late to get. I have tried going through the MAV website, I found an Interrail discount (Bérlet (pl.interrail) ) so I thought I could book this way, however I noticed the prices given are the same with and without the discount…. Is my only option really to book in a train station ? I will have hours to do so in Budapest, how likely is it I may be confronted with a fully booked train ?
  1. The following day (16/07) I want to book Bucharest to Istanbul Halkali (10h50, but other times would be fine). Again, is buying a ticket physically in a train station my only option ? I’m really uncomfortable not booking in advance for such a huge journey. In Turkey for trains in general (such as moving on to Ankara or even Erzurum) will I have to book in the station in Istanbul ?

Thank you in advance for anyone with advice.

Happy adventuring,

Loretta

icon

Best answer by rvdborgt 9 July 2023, 00:24

View original

20 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9
  1. Online booking is not possible. Ask at a ticket office where they sell international reservations, maybe even SNCF can do it. If you're passing through Germany or Austria, call DB or ÖBB (+43 5 1717) and collect the reservation in Germany or Austria.