Solved

Seat Reservations France

Hi, I am new to Eurail and having a problem with booking some trains through France. 

We are a group of 6 travelling from Barcelona to Avignon, Avignon to Nice and Nice to Lyon in mid-June. All of the trains we want are ‘seat reservation required’. We are able to add the trains to our cart, but then we get the ‘one of the legs of your journey cannot be booked’ error message each time. I have tried booking for less passengers because I read there may be a 5 person limit for booking, but the same error message still comes up. 

Can someone please explain why this may be happening and how we can get the booking to work?

Thank you in advance!!

icon

Best answer by rvdborgt 15 April 2023, 13:06

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9

French railways only allow booking of 5 passengers in one booking this way.

To book French domestic trains, you can also use:

https://travel.b-europe.com/Eurail-GE/en/booking-tgv#TravelWish

It's also cheaper in your case because Eurail charge a booking fee of €2 per person and train, whereas B-Europe charge €4 per order, with up to 9 persons.

You'll be asked to enter a pass cover number, which is on the cover of the paper pass, or if you have a mobile pass, you can generate one here:

You can use the same number for everyone. It does not appear on the reservation.

Thank you, we used that website and were able to book the train from Avignon to Nice, and Nice to Lyon.

However, we cannot use that website to book Barcelona to Avignon. Is this because it is an international train? Is there a different website I can use to book this train reservation instead?

I tried booking on Eurail the Barcelona to Avignon train for only 4 people instead of all 6 of us, and I still get the error message “One of the legs of your journey is not available anymore. Please try searching for another connection”.