Solved

Train transfers.

• 14 September 2023
  • 19 replies

Badge
  • Keeps calm and carries on
  • 45 replies

Hello all!

When I booked my train trips I was a complete rookie and didn’t know you could set transfer times. 

When we leave Nice and arrive in Marseille St Charles we have 17 minutes to switch trains going to Nimes. 

In Nimes we have 11 minutes to switch trains going to Barcelona.

Is this possible? We are not familiar with these specific train stations. These are paid reservations but tickets are Eurail passes and can be changed.  

I am considering booking new reservations? 

Any advice would be appreciated. 

Cheers, Brian

icon

Best answer by BrendanDB 14 September 2023, 14:44

View original

19 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

First rule of asking a question like this: try to be as precise as possible. What date you’re taking the trains? Which trains you’re taking specifically (departure time, train number,...) ? Otherwise it’s very difficult to help or suggest proper alternatives here on the community.

Seems a bit tight transfer times, especially for the leg to Barcelona.

Badge

Oct 4 date of travel.

08:25am. Nice to marseille st Charles.

11:24am. Marseille st Charles to Nimes.

12:46am. Nimes to Barcelona.

Badge

Oops 12:46pm

Badge

Thanks for all advice!

Badge

First train number# TER17478

Second train number# IC4760

Third train# TGV9713

On a train keep losing internet connection. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Other route planners suggest a change in Narbonne with a bit more time:

So you might want to change trains in Narbonne, to have a bit of extra buffer.

For my personal standards, it’s a bit too tight for the very infrequent connection to Barcelona. But coming from Nice, you don’t have a lot of other options.

If it goes wrong, speak to staff to get you rebooked to the later TGV. Worst case is that you have to wait a long time in Narbonne, or Nîmes. But both are well worth a visit for a couple of hours.

Badge