Solved

Italy

• 7 February 2024
  • 7 replies

Badge

Hello. I’ve never used an interrail pass before and wondered if anyone could offer any advice. We’d like to go for a week/nine days at the end of May, travelling from the UK, hopefully ending somewhere in Italy, before taking a different route home. Is this an okay length of time for a trip of that sort? Does anyone have any recommendations regarding itinerary? All advice gratefully received!! 

icon

Best answer by BrendanDB 7 February 2024, 11:42

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 1

You can find more information about planning train trips here, including helpful advice and route plans:

https://rail.cc/

Could you please provide more details regarding which city in the UK you intend to start your trip from? Additionally, could you mention a few cities in Italy that you are considering visiting?

Italy is a long and expansive country, stretching from London St. Pancras International to Roma Termini takes approximately 21-22 hours by train.

You have the option of traveling through France, Switzerland, and Italy, or you could opt for a route through Belgium or Holland, then through Germany, Switzerland, and Italy.

Badge

Thanks for your help. We were planning to leave London on May 25 for a week and don’t really have much of an idea after that! Just a vague plan to head to Italy - perhaps to a beachside area for a few days, then back a different route. I just wondered if anyone had done a similar sort of thing and could offer any tips. Thanks again!

Badge

Another option for us in May was to go to Valencia. However, all the routes to Valencia from London say ‘not in pass network.’ Is it ever possible to travel to Valencia on the interrail network? Thank you!

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Another option for us in May was to go to Valencia. However, all the routes to Valencia from London say ‘not in pass network.’ Is it ever possible to travel to Valencia on the interrail network? Thank you!