Skip to main content

Hi my dear fellow Interrailers,

I’m quite new to this fascinating Interrail business and haven’t yet taken a nighttrain with it. So here’s my question (I found similar questions, but none quite the same, or I looked in the wrong direction 😅):

In october I want to go with the global pass from Hamburg to Innsbruck with the ÖBB night jet and then I want to go directly from Innsbruck to Bologna. How many travel days would that be? And is it a problem that the night train will leave Hamburg at about 8 pm in the evening and won’t cross the border before midnight?

And then on my return I want to go from Florence to Innsbruck and from there with the ÖBB night jet back to Hamburg. Does that work? Somewhere I read that I can’t take a night train for an inbound journey, but that doesn’t seem to make any sense to me.

Would be so glad if you could help me out 😊

Nadia

Hi there! Love to see you here!

Night trains that are boarded before midnight count as the day of departure (even if delayed, as long as it was scheduled to depart before midnight CET/CEST). Thus, for Hamburg to Innsbruck you'd need a travel day, and for Innsbruck to Bologna you would need a separate travel day. As for in/out days, the same applies as above, so while you can use it from Florence all the way to Hamburg you cannot use it after leaving the night train. Your in/out day (if you are German) is therefore on the day you start in Florence.

Hope this helps!

For the night train back to Germany it all depends on whether the night train crosses the Austrian/German border before or after midnight if you can continue travel after leaving the night train.

If the night train crosses the border before midnight, your inbound travel day will be on the departure date of the night train.